Grant Brings Home the Gold

Grant Wins "Best Delegation" at the San Diego Regional Junior Model United Nations Conference

A huge congratulation to Grant’s middle school students who attended the forty-fifth annual San Diego Regional Junior Model United Nations conference at the University of California, San Diego Extension. 45 middle schoolers attended a two-day conference to discuss the environment, health issues and disarmament. They represented Grant with both poise and enthusiasm. The delegation representing the United Kingdom earned the most prestigious award possible as the “Best Delegation.” Congratulations to Anders Arnsten, Gwinna Gaughran, Cora Sullivan, Aiden Hughes, Kira Shiau, Wyatt Spencer, Naya McLaughlin, Addie Vail-Boggio, Mia Turner, Ben Case, and Elena Rubio.

Several students should be acknowledged for their outstanding preparation and participation. Aiden Hughes (8th grade), Wyatt Spencer (8th grade), and Yonas Gizachew (7th grade) were awarded the highest individual honor possible in their committees – the Gavel. In addition, Cora Sullivan (6th grade), Ben Case (8th grade), Aiden Hughes (8th grade) and Wyatt Spencer (8th grade) were nominated as Rapporteurs to their committee and presented their speeches during closing ceremonies. Addie Vail-Boggio, Ben Case, Naya McLaughlin, Dylan Kahn, and Bethlehem Gizachew were each acknowledged as “Outstanding Delegates,” and Mia Turner brought home an economics award.  In addition, Anders Arnsten, Gwinna Gaughran, Milo Veliz, Lev Goldschmied, Sierra Burton, Calli Levine, Elena Rubio, and Kira Shiau received commendations for their work

We also want to honor Grant alumni whose behind the scenes work made this conference possible. Jonathan Quitoriano (San Diego High) as Head Chair for the Economic and Social Council, Arsema Aklog (San Diego High) as Head Chair for United Nations Development Programme, Abigail Chang (San Diego High) as Head Chair for the Security Council, Elijah Lyon (San Diego High) as Chair for Regional Security Council, Caroline Renas (Point Loma High) as Assistant Secretary General, and Elea Castiglione (San Diego High) as Secretary General for the entire conference.

We are very proud of all of you.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.